NWK - Technology Logo
-

pH*K21

By pH value measurements.
PSE - pale, soft and exudative or
DFD - dark, firm and dry? The pH*K21 allows values to be measured with an exactness of up to 2 positions after the comma 45 minutes after slaughtering.

ph-value

The pH-value of the living muscle is about 7.0. After slaughtering, changes take place lowering the value to between 6.5 and 5.3. The carbohydrate glycogen is decisively responsible for the formation of lactic acid in the muscle. This process comes to a standstill about 24 hours after slaughtering. The speed at which the pH-value drops up to the extent of the end pH-value (pH24-value) differs among the various slaughtered animals and influences to a decisive extent the quality of the meat.A differentiation is made among others between PSE meat (pale, soft and exudative), the pH-value of which lies below 5.8 45 minutes after the slaughtering process and DFD (dark, firm and dry) which reflects a pH value of over 6.3 45 minutes after slaughtering.

electrode

The high-performance electrode is the feature which enables the high measuring speed of 600 measurements per hour and the exactness of the pH*K21. It has a high life of about 30,000 - 80,000 measurements and can be easily replaced by the user.

data

Up to two test values are registered with an exactness of 1/100 per consecutive number (e.g. immediately and 24 hours after slaughtering). This can be programmed analog to the consecutive number used in the slaughtering line to allow a direct assignment to the slaughtering database at a later point of time. The memory has a capacity of 4,000 results with a maximum of 2 x 4000 pH1, pH2 measurements.The measurements are made either online - whereby the data are transmitted during the measurement or printed - or offline, whereby the data are then sent to the PK21 or a printer. The data are transmitted via an RS 232 interface. This means that the data can be integrated into and processed by any software

display

With an exactness of up to two digits after the comma the pH-values measured are displayed on the graphic LCD-Display which is located above the function button on the control panel. The diagram to the right shows the numeric display.

housing

Frame and handle of the pH*K21 are of lightweight aluminium. The telescopic sleeve protecting the electrode is steel. In particular in the harsh slaughter house environment the strong points of this robust housing are reflected: It is absolute waterproof, impact- and shock-proof. The metal pistol has a user-friendly ergonomic form, is comfortable to hold and can be used for longer periods of time, over the course of several shifts without tiring.

Alternative to the metaltop with the telescopic sleeve protect is a steeltop with blade available. This makes it easier to prick the in the meat
NWK-Technology GmbH | Bahnhofstr. 50 | D-86807 Buchloe
Tel.: (+49)8241/9629-881 | Fax.: (+49)8241/9629-888
e-Mail: info@nwk.de

NWK - Technology Logo
-

pH-Wert

Der pH-Wert des lebenden Muskels beträgt etwa 7,0. Nach dem Schlachten setzen Veränderungen ein, die den Wert allmählich zwischen 6,5 und 5,3 absinken lassen. An dieser Senkung ist maßgeblich das Kohlehydrat Glykogen beteiligt, das durch Glykolyse für die Bildung von Milchsäure im Muskel verantwortlich ist. Dieser Prozess kommt etwa 24 Stunden nach der Schlachtung zum Stillstand. Die Geschwindigkeit des pH-Wert-Abfalls bis zur Höhe des End-pH-Wertes (pH24-Wert) ist bei den einzelnen Schlachtkörpern unterschiedlich und beeinflusst in starkem Maße die Fleischqualität. Man unterscheidet u.a. PSE-Fleisch (blass/weich/wässrig), dessen pH-Wert bereits 45 Minuten nach der Schlachtung schon unter 5,8 liegt, und DFD-Fleisch (dunkel/fest/trocken), das 45 Minuten nach der Schlachtung noch einen pH-Wert von über 6,3 aufweist.

Elektrode

Die leistungsfähige Elektrode in Verbindung mit unserem speziellen Messverfahren ist es, die die hohe Messgeschwindigkeit von 600 Messungen je Stunde und die Genauigkeit des pH*K21 ermöglicht. Sie verfügt über eine hohe Lebensdauer von etwa 30000-80000 Messungen und kann einfach vom Benutzer gewechselt werden.

Daten

Bis zu zwei Messwerte werden auf 1/100 genau zu je einer fortlaufenden Nummer erfasst (z. B. sofort und 24 Std. nach der Schlachtung). Diese kann analog zur in der Schlachtlinie verwendeten fortlaufenden Nummer eingestellt werden, so dass später eine direkte Zuordnung zur Schlachtdatenbank erfolgt. Der Speicher fasst 4000 Ergebnisse incl. Datum, Uhrzeit, pH-Wert 1, pH-Wert 2 und ein frei zu belegender Wert. Gemessen wird entweder online, wobei die Daten während der Messungen übertragen oder gedruckt werden, oder offline mit anschließender Übergabe der Daten an das PK*21, zur Auswertesoftware pHStat32 oder einen Drucker. Die Übergabe der Daten erfolgt seriell über eine RS 232 Schnittstelle. So ist eine Datenübernahme in beliebige Software möglich.

Display

Bis auf zwei Nachkommastellen genau erscheinen die gemessenen pH-Werte auf der LCD-Anzeige, die oberhalb der Funktionstasten auf dem Bedienpanel angeordnet ist. Nebenstehende Abbildung zeigt die alphanumerische Anzeige mit kompletter, grafisch unterstützter Benutzerführung.

Gehäuse

Korpus und Griff des ph*K21 sind aus leichtem Aluminium gefertigt. Die Teleskophülse, die die Elektrode schützt, besteht aus Stahl. Insbesondere im rauen Schlachtbetrieb kommen die Stärken dieses robusten Gehäuses zur Geltung: Es ist absolut wasserdicht, sowie schlag- und stoßfest. Die Meßpistole wurde benutzerfreundlich ergonomisch geformt, liegt gut in der Hand und ist so auch über längere Schichten ermüdungsfrei zu verwenden. Alternativ ist zur Spitze mit Teleskopschutz auch eine Edelstahlspitze mit Messer verfügbar, diese erleichtert das Einstechen ins Fleisch.
NWK-Technology GmbH | Bahnhofstr. 50 | D-86807 Buchloe
Tel.: (+49)8241/9629-881 | Fax.: (+49)8241/9629-888
e-Mail: info@nwk.de